The US Treasury Department sanctioned four individuals it accused Thursday of engaging in activities directed by Russia to destabilize Ukraine.

“Today’s action is intended to target, undermine, and expose Russia’s ongoing destabilization effort in Ukraine,” the agency said in a statement.

US Secretary of State Antony Blinken said two of the individuals are members of Ukraine’s parliament and act at the direction of Russia’s Federal Security Service (FSB) and back Moscow’s “destabilizing and dangerous influence operations.”

The designated individuals include Taras Kozak, Oleh Voloshyn, Volodymyr Oliynyk and Vladimir Sivkovich.

“The United States will continue to take steps, including through actions like this one, and in partnership with the Ukrainian government, to identify, expose, and undercut Russia’s destabilization efforts in Ukraine,” Blinken added.

US President Joe Biden said Wednesday that he expected Russia to “move in” to Ukraine but admitted that the response to a “minor incursion” would prompt discussions among NATO allies.​​​​​​​

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.