KYIV, Ukraine

Ukraine imposed sanctions against former President Viktor Yanukovych and former high-level officials on Friday, according to the Security Service 

Economic sanctions were proposed by the National Security and Defense Council for Yanukovych and other officials including former Prime Minister Mykola Azarov, former Defense Minister Pavlo Lebedev and former Education Minister Dmytro

Tabachnyk who were on the sanctions list.

Oleksiy Danilov, the secretary of the National Security and Defense Council confirmed the sanctions.

In 2019, a Ukrainian court sentenced Yanukovich to 13 years for treason.

The Obolonsky district court in the capital, Kyiv, declared Yanukovich guilty of treason for inviting Russian troops to Ukrainian territory and being complicit in war.

Prosecutors requested a 15-year term for the former president.
Yanukovich fled to Russia in 2014 following massive protests.

Copyright 2021 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.