UK Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said Thursday that three countries, including Belgium, will be removed from the nation’s coronavirus travel corridors and returning Brits from those countries will be required to self-isolate for two weeks.

“Data shows we need to remove Andorra, Belgium and The Bahamas from our list of #coronavirus Travel Corridors in order to keep infection rates DOWN. If you arrive in the UK after 0400 Saturday from these destinations, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days.”

He said other countries would be added to the list, meaning Brits no longer had to self-isolate when they return.

“Data shows that we are now able to add BRUNEI and MALAYSIA to the Government’s Travel Corridor list following a decrease in confirmed cases of #coronavirus. From 04:00 on Tuesday, passengers arriving in England from these destinations will no longer be required to self-isolate,” he tweeted.

The government announced another 49 Brits died in the past 24 hours, bringing the overall death toll to 46,413.

Additionally, 950 people tested positive for the coronavirus during the same period, bringing the total to 308,134.

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.