SARAJEVO, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Land roads from Europe to Turkey opened with certain conditions, giving an opportunity to Turkish expats who want to spend summer holiday in their homeland Turkey.

The roads used often by expats in France, Belgium, the Netherlands, and Germany opened completely, via Austria, Hungary, Serbia, and Bulgaria.

As of Thursday, June 4, Austria decided to open its borders to all its neighbors except Italy, and it was announced that health checks will be terminated, especially in Germany, Czechia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and Hungary, and quarantine and test conditions will be lifted.

In Hungary, another country on the route to Turkey, the border crossings can be made at certain times of the day without prior permission, according to the government’s regulation on transit passes.

According to the government’s decision, it is possible to pass through the Hegyeshalom Border Gate on the Austrian border at 8 p.m.-noon local time (1800-1200GMT) every day, and at the Roszke Border Gate on the Serbian border between 10 a.m.-10 p.m. local time (0800-2000GMT) every day.

Passengers will be screened for health during the pass, while the COVID-19 test is also not required. According to the regulation, those who do not follow the rules will be fined.

Transitions from Serbia back to pre-pandemic period

On the other hand, entering and leaving Serbia, another country on the route, returned to the pre-pandemic normals.

According to information received from the Turkish Embassy in Belgrade, Serbia opened its borders to everyone on May 22, and lifted COVID-19 test requirement.

Also, foreigners entering Serbia started to be informed of the pandemic at the borders.

In Bulgaria, according to the information shared by the government crisis desk, no conditions are required for transit, while the police controls on highways reduced, and those who would transit the country were to be warned not to proceed in convoys on the highway.

Switzerland, Germany to open borders on June 15

Switzerland, which closed its borders after the state of emergency declared on March 16, reached an agreement in principle to open its borders with Germany, France and Austria on June 15.

Germany, on the other hand, removed the travel warning it had put into practice for 31 countries. According to the decision of the Council of Ministers, from June 15, the travel warning for 26 EU member states, as well as Britain, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein, has been lifted.

Czech Republic, one of the alternative routes between Germany and Austria, announced the borders will be opened to seven countries as of June 15, with no quarantine and COVID-19 test requirements.

* Writing by Busra Nur Bilgic Cakmak in Ankara.

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.