Turkey has now taken the helm of a group of southeastern European countries including the Balkans, said the Foreign Ministry on Wednesday.

“Turkey assumes the South East Europe Cooperation Process (SEECP) 2020-2021 Chairmanship-in-Office on 1 July 2020, for one year, for the third time,” said a ministry statement.

“Turkey’s previous Chairmanships were in 1998-1999 and 2009-2010,” the statement added.

Founded in 1996, the SEECP includes 13 countries from southeastern Europe and promotes comprehensive regional cooperation.

On its turn at the helm, the statement explained: “Turkey identified its Chairmanship priorities taking into account global and regional issues that occupy the agenda of the countries in the region with a special emphasis on the fight against Covid-19, and will carry out its activities on the basis of ‘regional ownership’ and ‘inclusiveness,’ which are the basic principles of the SEECP.”

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.