Slovenian rider Tadej Pogacar on Sunday won the Tour de France for the second straight year.

The UAE Team Emirates rider, who came 72nd in the final stage, led the general classification, finishing the 3,414.4-kilometer (2121.6-mile) course in 82 hours, 56 minutes, and 36 seconds.

With his victory, Pogacar also captured the king of the mountains jersey, and young rider triumphs in the 108th edition of the tour.

Jumbo-Visma’s Jonas Vingegaard from Denmark took the second spot overall, with Ineos Grenadiers team’s Ecuadorian rider Richard Carapaz in third place.

Van Aert claims final stage

Jumbo-Visma rider Wout van Aert from Belgium managed to win stage 21 of the Tour de France.

Van Aert was first across the line in stage 21 of the tour ahead of his compatriot Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Fenix) and British cyclist Mark Cavendish (Deceuninck-Quick-Step).

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.