Bayern Munich’s Polish striker Robert Lewandowski won the 2019/2020 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award on Thursday.

The 32-year-old star player beat his teammate Manuel Neuer and Manchester City’s midfielder Kevin De Bruyne to receive the award.

Having become the top scorer in the Champions League last season, Lewandowski scored 15 goals in the tournament, helping Bayern Munich to win the trophy.

He was also named the forward of the 2019-2020 season.

Neuer was also awarded the UEFA Champions League goalkeeper of the season while Joshua Kimmich became the defender of the season.

Kevin De Bruyne was selected as the midfielder of the season and Bayern Munich’s manager Hansi Flick was named the UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year.

Also, Pernille Harder was named the 2019/2020 UEFA Women’s Player of the Year.

The 27-year-old forward from Denmark joined Chelsea from Wolfsburg last month.

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.