ABUJA, Nigeria

Nigeria will ban travelers coming from some African countries due to concerns about the spread of COVID-19 there. 

In a statement, Boss Mustapha, the secretary to the government and chairman of the Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19, said some countries face a fast-surging third wave of the coronavirus pandemic and this caused concern.

Mustapha said that as part of the coronavirus measures, no one will be accepted from South Africa, Zambia, Rwanda, Namibia and Uganda.

He added that Abuja has extended the travel ban for Turkey, Brazil and India for four weeks.

So far, the most populous African country has reported 167,467 infections, 2,119 deaths and 163,949 recoveries.

*Writing by Seda Sevencan from Istanbul

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.