The 2020 Formula 1 season will begin in Austria this weekend after a delay of nearly four months due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Organizers have introduced stringent measures to minimize the risk of virus transmission in the paddock.

There will be no spectators at the season’s first race, the Austrian Grand Prix, on July 5 and the number of media personnel and other staff has also been limited.

Everyone on the track will have to wear a mask, while journalists will be required to maintain proper distance during interviews.

Every person entering the track will be tested for COVID-19 every five days, and the traditional podium ceremony will also not be held.

The 71-lap Austrian Grand Prix will take place at the Red Bull Ring in Spielberg, which has a track distance of 4.318 kilometers (2.683 miles).

The qualifying round will be held on Saturday, while the race starts at 1910GMT on Sunday.

The first eight races of the 2020 season are:

July 5: Austria

July 12: Austria

July 19: Hungary

Aug. 2: UK

Aug. 9: UK

Aug. 16: Spain

Aug. 30: Belgium

Sept. 6: Italy

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.