Bayern Munich’s Polish star Robert Lewandowski won the Best FIFA Men’s Player 2021 award in a ceremony on Monday. 

Lewandowski, 33, retained this title, as he previously took the Best FIFA award in the same category in 2020.

The experienced forward helped Bayern Munich win the 2021 German Bundesliga title.

On the women’s side, Barcelona Femeni’s Spanish midfielder Alexia Putellas took the Best FIFA Women’s Player 2021 award.

Putellas, 27, led Barcelona to win the 2021 Spanish women’s league title and the UEFA Women’s Champions League the same year.

This year’s Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony was held virtually at FIFA Headquarters in Zurich due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Separately, the FIFA Fair Play award went to the Danish national team and medical team over Denmark midfielder Christian Eriksen’s sudden collapse in a June 12 EURO 2020 Group B game against Finland.

Eriksen, 29, was rushed to hospital after urgent medical interventions on the pitch. The game resumed after Eriksen’s departure on a stretcher.

He underwent a successful operation and was discharged from hospital on June 18.​​​​​​​

Eriksen did not play for his club Inter Milan or his native Denmark for several months.

In December, Inter terminated Eriksen’s contract over his heart issues. He is now a free agent.

Denmark and Finland fans were also named the winners of the FIFA Fan Award for their solidarity and common sense after Eriksen’s collapse.

In addition, FIFA commemorated German football legend and former Bayern Munich forward Gerd Muller, showing a highlights reel of his plays. 

The 1974 FIFA World Cup winner died last Aug. 15, age 75.   

2021 award winners:

Best FIFA Special Awards: Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns and Canada), and Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus / Manchester United and Portugal)

Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler (Paris Saint-Germain / Olympique Lyon)

Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper: Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)

FIFA Puskas Award (the most beautiful goal): Erik Lamela (Tottenham Hotspur against Arsenal in English Premier League on March 14, 2021.

FIFA Fair Play Award: Denmark’s national team, and Danish medical team and coaching staff

Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Emma Hayes (Chelsea Women)

Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea)

FIFA Fan Award: Fans of Denmark and Finland

Best FIFA Women’s Player: Alexia Putellas (Barcelona Femeni)

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)  

2021 FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11

Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler (Paris Saint-Germain / Olympique Lyon)

Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City), Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea), Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyon)

Midfielders: Estefania Banini (Levante / Atletico Madrid), Barbara Bonansea (Juventus), Carli Lloyd (NJ / NY Gotham)

Forwards: Marta (Orlando Pride), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal), and Alex Morgan (Tottenham Hotspur / Orlando Pride / San Diego Wave).  

2021 FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11:

Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan / Paris Saint-Germain)

Defenders: David Alaba (Bayern Munich / Real Madrid), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Jorginho, N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Forwards: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi Barcelona / Paris Saint-Germain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus / Manchester United), and Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund).

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.