Japan on Friday included 11 more countries, including India, on its travel advisory list as part of measures against the novel coronavirus pandemic.

Japan’s Foreign Minister Toshimitsu Motegi urged Japanese nationals against traveling to these countries, the Tokyo-based Kyodo news agency reported.

The additional countries are expected to be added to a list of nations and regions subject to an entry ban for foreign travelers to Japan. This will be decided on after an upcoming National Security Council meeting, added Motegi.

The other countries are Argentina, South Africa, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, El Salvador, Ghana, Guinea, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan and Tajikistan.

With such bans, international travel to and from Japan has fallen by almost 99%.

There are 100 countries and regions already covered by the entry ban including the US, China and all of Europe.

Japan had imposed national emergency measures to battle the coronavirus, though this was lifted from most parts of the country.

Health Minister Katsunobu Kato said Japan would begin testing 10,000 people in Tokyo, Osaka and the northeastern province of Miyagi starting in early June as part of its efforts to “better understand” the virus’s spread.

Japan has over 16,000 coronavirus cases, while 777 people have died in the country due to the infection.

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.