The German government announced on Sunday that it will reintroduce border checks with five neighbouring countries in an effort to curb the spread of coronavirus. 

Interior Minister Horst Seehofer told a news conference in Berlin that border controls for Austria, France, Switzerland, Luxembourg and Denmark will begin 8 a.m. local time (0600 GMT) Monday. 

Germany and all five neighboring countries are in the Schengen area, Europe’s border-free travel zone. 

Seehofer underlined that while travelers without a valid reason would not be allowed to cross the border, the restrictions would not apply to cargo.

Germany’s recent decision came amid continued

Read more: Germany partially closes borders with neighbors