Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton won Sunday’s Portuguese Grand Prix to break Formula 1 legend Michael Schumacher’s record of 91 race victories.

Hamilton finished the 66-lap race at 1:29:56 to get the eighth victory of the season at the Algarve International Circuit.

He has now become Formula 1’s most successful driver of all time with 92 wins.

Hamilton’s teammate Valtteri Bottas trailed 25.5 seconds behind him, while Red Bull-Honda’s Max Verstappen came in third with 34.5 seconds behind Hamilton.

The 13th race of 2020 will be run in Italy’s Emilia Romagna region on Nov.1.

Driver standings

1. Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain): 256 points

2. Valtteri Bottas (Finland): 179

3. Max Verstappen (Netherlands): 162

4. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia): 80

5. Charles Leclerc (Monaco): 75

Constructor standings

1. Mercedes: 435

2. Red Bull: 226

3. Racing Point: 126

4. McLaren: 124

5. Renault: 120

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.