The European Union on Thursday marked 25 years of its open-border Schengen agreement amid closure of borders in an effort to stem the spread of the coronavirus.

Due to the spread of the novel coronavirus, European states decided to temporarily reintroduce controls at borders with other Schengen countries over the past few weeks.

Some countries even banned all foreign nationals – including other EU citizens – to enter their territory.

Only Italy, Slovakia, Latvia, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Malta and Greece haven’t introduced any restrictions related to their Schengen borders, according to the European Commission’s registry.

However, it is only

Read more: EU marks 25 years of open-border pact amid closure