Senegal and South Africa issued curfews Monday as part of measures against the novel coronavirus, which has claimed more than 16,000 lives worldwide.  

Following a nine-hour-long meeting, Senegalese President Macky Sall said a state of emergency was declared in a bid to prevent the spread of the coronavirus, adding free movement would be limited for the next three months. 

Sall said demonstrations and rallies were prohibited, public spaces would be closed, and a curfew would be in effect from 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. while transportation between cities has been restricted and could be completely banned if necessary. 


Read more: Curfews issued in Senegal, South Africa over COVID-19