DOHA, Qatar 

Qatar’s Health Ministry confirmed on Monday three new cases infected with the novel coronavirus, raising the total number of cases in the country to 18.

On Sunday, Qatar announced it temporarily banned the entry of travelers from 14 countries due to concerns over the novel coronavirus.

The ban covers Bangladesh, China, Egypt, India, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria, and Thailand.

Qataris were also called on not to visit these countries unless it is absolutely necessary.

The global death toll from the virus is around 3,800, with more than 109,000 confirmed cases,

Read more: Coronavirus spreading in Qatar, cases rise to 18