The Canadian women’s national ice hockey team have been crowned the Beijing 2022 Winter Games’ champions on Thursday.

Team Canada beat the 2018 champions US 3-2 in the final at the Wukesong Sports Centre.

Canada took a 2-0 lead in the first period as Sarah Nurse and captain Marie-Philip Poulin were the scorers.

Poulin added another goal in the second period to extend Canada’s lead to 3-0. US narrowed the gap to two goals as Hilary Knight scored in the same period.

In the third period, US forward Amanda Kessel scored for her team at 59:47. But there was not enough time for a third goal.

Canadian goalie Ann-Renee Desbiens also displayed a heroic performance in net, stopping 38 of 40 shots taken by US.

Canada secured their fifth Olympic gold medal in women’s ice hockey, and their first title since Sochi 2014.

Before their latest championship in Beijing, Canadian women were the gold medalists in ice hockey in 2002, 2006, 2010, and 2014 Winter Games.

Meanwhile, the finalists US brought home another Olympic silver medal as Team USA were the runners-up in 2002, 2010, 2014, and 2022.

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.