Cambodia will impose a two-week lockdown in eight provinces bordering Thailand from Thursday midnight as part of efforts to prevent the spread of the coronavirus Delta variant.

Strict curbs will be enforced in the provinces of Koh Kong, Pursat, Battambang, Pailin, Banteay Meanchey, Oddar Meanchey, Preah Vihear, and Siem Reap at least until Aug. 12, the government announced late on Wednesday.

“The measure is aimed to prevent the community spread of COVID-19 caused by Delta variant,” read a statement, adding that provincial authorities must “increase their cooperation to control the inter-provincial travel and to jointly take necessary measures to prevent the COVID-19 spread.”

The Foreign Ministry has also been told to “urgently contact the Thai side for temporary border closure for all cross-border travel, except goods transport and medical emergencies.”

A night curfew will also start in all cities, including the capital Phnom Penh, from Thursday midnight until Aug. 12, the government said.

The Southeast Asian nation is facing a third COVID-19 wave driven by the infectious Delta variant.

The virus strain, which was first detected in India and has since spread rapidly across the globe, has swept through neighboring Thailand, pushing its daily infections and fatality count to record levels.

Cambodia reported 765 more infections and 11 deaths on Thursday, taking its overall tally to 75,917, including 1,350 fatalities.

In a drive backed by supplies from China, authorities have managed to administer COVID-19 vaccine doses to over 70% of Cambodia’s targeted 10 million population.

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.