DHAKA, Bangladesh

Bangladesh has imposed a ban on flights from the EU, Turkey and dozens of other countries as it ramps up restrictions amid surging coronavirus cases.

The ban will come into effect on April 3 until April 18.

“Reviewing the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic situation throughout the country and globally, passengers from European countries, except the UK, and 12 other countries will not be allowed to enter Bangladesh,” the Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh announced in a circular issued on Thursday.

The non-EU countries are; Argentina, Bahrain, Brazil, Chile, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Peru, Qatar, South Africa, Turkey and Uruguay, it read.

“Airlines operating scheduled passenger flights from all those countries mentioned, however, will be allowed to carry only transit passengers to Bangladesh subject to the conditions that the passengers remain confined inside the terminal building only during their transit.”

Irrespective of the COVID-19 vaccination, all passengers coming to Bangladesh should have to show a negative PCR test.

Bangladesh on Thursday registered the highest-ever infections — 6,469 — taking the caseload to 617,764, according to the country’s health authority.

The South Asian nation also reported 59 more deaths over the past day, a nine-month high, taking the death toll to 9,105.

Hospitals in Bangladesh are under pressure with a rise in COVID-19 hospitalizations.

Copyright 2022 Anadolu Agency. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.