Member nations of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) as well as Japan, South Korea and China on Monday focused on jointly curbing cybercrime, extremism and misinformation.

At the 22nd ASEAN Plus Three Summit in Bangkok, Thailand, the sides agreed on a joint communique to enhance cooperation in preventing and addressing cybercrime as well as violent extremism, radicalization and misinformation.

The ASEAN bloc, which was founded for the purpose of regional development and protection of political stability, has a total of 10 members being Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, the Philippines and Singapore, as well as Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar

Read more: ASEAN+3 agree to curb cybercrime, extremism