The new coronavirus known as COVID-19 has so far spread to 26 African countries, and many suspended flights to China, Europe, the U.S. and South Korea as part of measures to fight the virus.

As the number of coronavirus cases rose in African countries, Kenya, Djibouti, Ghana, South Africa, Gabon, Senegal, Ethiopia and Mauritania have restricted travel to countries where the virus has spread and also suspended schools.

The novel coronavirus was first seen in the North African countries in the continent and spread fast to other regions, mostly via infected passengers coming from Europe.

The number of confirmed

Read more: African countries step up measures over coronavirus