At least 12 U.S. states have declared states of emergency so far over the coronavirus outbreak as global cases exceed 110,000.

On Feb. 29, the U.S. reported the first death from the novel coronavirus in the country, in Washington state.

On March 2, the governor of Washington state declared a state of emergency. In total, 23 people have died from the virus statewide.

The current death toll nationwide is 28 and more than 800 people are infected across the U.S.

Since then, California, Maryland, Utah, Kentucky, New York, Oregon, Florida and New Jersey have all declared states of emergency.

Read more: 12 US states declare state of emergency over COVID-19