Leaders Fenerbahce to host Trabzonspor in Turkish Super League

Fenerbahce and Trabzonspor to slug it out in Spor Toto Super League clash in Istanbul on Saturday

Fenerbahce and Trabzonspor to slug it out in Spor Toto Super League clash in Istanbul on Saturday

ANKARA - Leaders of the Turkish Spor Toto Super League, Fenerbahce will host Trabzonspor at Fenerbahce Sukru Saracoglu stadium on Saturday.

Regarded as the fourth biggest club in Turkey after Istanbulite heavyweights Fenerbahce, Galatasaray and Besiktas, visitors Trabzonspor -- with 29 points -- are in sixth place in the standings.

The game will start at 19:00 local time (1700GMT).

Fenerbahce captain Emre Belozoglu, who suffers from a thigh tear injury, has been sidelined until Feb. 16. The status of midfielder Alper Potuk is not yet clear.

Meanwhile in Trabzonspor, Portuguese fullback Jose Bosingwa will miss the match because of a thigh tear injury. In addition, regular goalkeeper and team captain, Onur Kivrak, is still injured.

Besiktas will play Caykur Rizespor in an away game on Sunday. Following the leaders Fenerbahce closely, runners-up Besiktas are willing to gain three points in an away match despite having many injured players.

The new signings of the "Black Eagles", Swedish center-back Alexander Milosevic and Ghanaian right-back Daniel Opare, will be sidelined because of injuries. Besiktas Canadian defensive midfielder, Atiba Hutchinson, is unconfirmed for the match; so is Turkish striker Cenk Tosun.

The match will begin at 19:00 local time (1700 GMT).

In the last game of matchday 19, Galatasaray will play Eskisehirspor in Eskisehir on Monday. The "Lions" have several injured players such as Turkish center-back Semih Kaya and right-back Sabri Sarioglu. Moreover, Galatasaray's ace in forward line, Turkish goal poacher Burak Yilmaz will probably miss the match.

The match in Eskisehir will kick off at 20:00 local time (1800 GMT).

Galatasaray is in third place with 39 points.

- Fixtures of matchday 19 are as follows:


Istanbul Basaksehir vs Kardemir Karabukspor at 20:00 (1800 GMT)


Medicana Sivasspor vs Akhisar Belediyespor at 13:30 (1130 GMT)

SAI Kayseri Erciyesspor vs Gaziantepspor at 16:00 (1400 GMT)

Fenerbahce vs Trabzonspor at 19:00 (1700 GMT)


Balikesirspor vs Torku Konyaspor at 13:00 (1100 GMT)

Mersin Idmanyurdu vs Kasimpasa at 13:00 (1100 GMT)

Bursaspor vs Genclerbirligi at 16:00 (1400 GMT)

Caykur Rizespor vs Besiktas at 19:00 (1700 GMT)


Eskisehirspor vs Galatasaray at 20:00 (1800 GMT)

Copyright © 2015 Anadolu Agency